Morning Skin Care Routine

The importance of good skin care is imperative. Not only can the right regimen give you beautiful and healthy skin, but it can also save you tons of money in the future that you would spend on botox or plastic surgery of some sort.

There are a couple of vital steps you need to take in the morning to ensure protection and hydration throughout the day.

Step 1: Hydrate

Drink up. Have about 16oz / 2 cups of water the moment you wake up. Not only is the water going to speed up your metabolism, it will hydrate you, help your body remove toxins and fuel your brain. This will also start the hydration from the inside out, sounds like a good way to start the morning if you ask me.

Step 2: Cleanse 

Now, this all depends on your skin type. I’m normal to dry most of the year, however I had an unusual amount of breaking out recently so my skin care incorporates tons of acne fighting or products for sensitive skin to help my recent skin care issues out.

In the morning I use my Peter Thomas Roth Beta Hydroxy 2% Acne Wash or Clinique Liquid Facial Soap. However, I do want to note that I am in the market to find a more gentle face cleanser for the morning. I am about to start my search, so I may start to incorporate a gentle face cleanser more than the two I currently go back and forth from now.

10-11-510-li
$38.00
s899070-main-lhero
$17.00

Step 3: Tone

After cleansing my skin, I apply my LUSH Tea Tree Water Toner. This toner is perfect, especially if I am breaking out. Tea tree oil helps combat acne and gives your skin a very fresh feeling. However, I will rotate my toners to a more hydrating one from LUSH as well, it is their Eau Roma Water Toner. This toner smells amazing and is incredibly hydrating for your skin due to the rose and lavender oils.

00405
$10.95-$22.95
00408
$10.95-$22.95

Step 4: SPF 

SPF, is CRITICAL. I use Neutrogena’s Clear Face Liquid Lotion with SPF 30. Not only is SPF important to protect your face from the suns harmful rays, it is imperative to prevent aging, and of course prevent skin cancer. I apply SPF every single day,even if I am going to be out for 30 minutes, I will apply my SPF. I apply it underneath my makeup as well, especially since two of my favorite foundations do not contain any SPF already built in.

6886031_320x385
$11.49

Step 5: Moisturize

Now after applying SPF, I will go in with my moisturizer. Depending on how dry I am feeling I will use different ones. I currently rotate from 3 different ones, the first is Neutrogena Hydro Boost Gel-Cream Extra Dry Skin. This particular moisturizer is amazing because it contains hyaluronic acid. Hyaluronic acid is great for your skin because is moisturizes your skin 1,oo0 times its weight in water, which results in more supple and smooth skin.

6811048_320x385
$38.00

The second moisturizer is Clinique’s Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion. This one is still one of my favorites and is amazing for very dry skin. Late last year, my skin was so dry that I had dry patches daily and it looked pretty awful on top of my foundations. This moisturizer truly helped me, and I still love it very much.It’s an amazing moisturizer for the fall and winter seasons when your skin is very stiff from the dryness. Last, but not least I use Trader Joes Nourish Antioxidant Facial Moisturizer. This moisturizer contains retinol which is perfect to prevent aging, and retinol has a ton of other amazing benefits.

s1538354-main-hero
$26.00
trader-joes-nourish-oil-free-antioxidant-facial-moisturizer
$10.99

Step 6: Primer

Primer is not necessary if you’re not planning on wearing makeup that day. However, if you are than it is very necessary. Primer helps smooth out your skin, as well as cover up your fine lines and pores. However more importantly than that, primer adds another layer between your makeup and your skin. This way your foundation is not touching your skin directly, its over SPF, moisturizer, and primer.  Primer also makes your makeup last longer, look better, and provides an overall base for your foundation.

I currently switch from these 4 different primers, depending on what result I want to achieve. I use Benefits POREfessional Face Primer, Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer, NXY Pore Filler, and NXY Shine Killer.

s1349968-main-hero
$36.00
s1259068-main-hero
$31.00
nyx-cosmetics
$14.00-$25.00

 

This is my current skin care routine for the morning, you should change the products that you use for every season. As the summer approaches your skin is most likely to get oiler for example, therefore you would need to use different products. Also, our skin gets used to specific products if used over a long period of time. So it is good to switch it up every now and then and see how your skin likes different products, especially for different seasons throughout the year.

Let me know how you guys liked this post and what you guys do for your morning routine! Also, if you have any suggestions for a gentle and fresh morning cleanser, I would love to hear your opinions!

xoxo

Cindy

 

References:

The Ultimate Morning Skincare Routine

http://alifeofproductivity.com/killer-morning-habit-drink-water-right-after-you-wake-up/

3 Comments

  1. Hey! Just discovered your blog through pinterest because I was looking for some new ideas for a hair mask (thanks :)) I love your DIY natural skin/hair care! I have been battling the “nontoxic” battle for a couple years now. It’s hard to find natural alternatives for the millions of hair and skin products that smooth and anti age lol. I’m glad you’re trying to help others find a better way. Keep it up ❤

Leave a Reply

